NEWS - Formula Renault 2.0 NEC  
Norris wins Formula Renault 2.0 NEC title - Shwartzman wins race in Hockenheim

Free Practice 1 + 2: In the first practice session the Kaufmann drivers started to be P 3 - Norris, P 4 - Daruvala and P 5 - Shwartzman. Daruvala had a very heavy accident at the end of the first session.


In the second session the Kaufmann Drivers didn´t went out on all new tyres and finished only on P 4 - Norris, P 7 - Shwartzman and P 13 - Daruvala


Qualifying 1 + 2: In the first Qualifying the track was wet. Daruvala suffered from a gearbox issue caused by his crahs the day before. He qualified only P 16. Shwartzman ended up on P 11. Norris once more was very fast and secured his 10th Pole Position of this year.


In the second Qualifying the track was dry. Daruvala still handicaped by his gearbox issue qualified P 18. Norris and Shwartzman were battleing for Pole Position. In the end Norris was on P 3 but Shwarzman took his maiden Pole Position of the year.

Race 1: In the first race Norris los one place at the start to P 2. Daruvala crashed in turn 2 and stopped. Shwartzman drove from P 11 to P 5 within half a lap. Due to rain the race was red flagged. After a short Safety Car period the race again was red flagged and didn´t re-start anymore.

Race 2: In the second race on Sunday morning the weather was sunny. Daruvala was able to make up some postions to finish on P 13. Norris lost some positions in the opening lap and finally finished P 4. Shwartzman had a perfect start and kept his lead. Without any mistakes and an impressive speed the young russian driver won his second race of the year.

Race 3: In the final race on Sunday afternoon Daruvala drove again very well and made it into the Top Ten on P 9. Shwartzman was hit in the hairpin and dropped back to the last place. After a brilliant drive he finished P 13. Norris also showed a strong performance. After starting from P 10 he made his way through the field up to the podium on P 3.

Norris won this year´s Formula Renault 2.0 NEC 2016 Championship Title with 10 Poles, 6 Victories and a total of 11 podium finishes. As well the Team of Josef Kaufmann won the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC 2016 Team Championship Title, a third time in a row now. A total of 12 Poles, 9 Victories and 19 podiums finishes are the result of an incredible performance this season.